Crochet surprise, granny square and meet Myrtle

I’ve been pootling around today, making the most of some well earned time off work…time to recharge those batteries and focus on some other things for a change…after a huge (and I mean huge) amount of time spent de cluttering ‘The Back Room’ aka the pit; sorting through children’s toys and more toys oh and toys with bits missing or broken, that have long been outgrown…it was a bit terrifying to be honest because it started from looking quite bad (actually very bad) and at one point I had actually become trapped in the pit, surrounded by bags for recycling, bags for rubbish, bags for charity, bags for friends’ children (yep, that’s what you do…pass your ‘stuff’ onto some other poor unsuspecting parent!) Anyway, after eventually contorting my body in order to escape the pit, and some 4 hours later (bearing in mind I’d done 2 hours plus yesterday), I made it out of what shall now be called, A Clean and Organised Room, to a half hour of crochet time and a well earned cuppa…. Remember I mentioned the new yarn I had started using yesterday on my ‘Soon to be Revealed Little Crochet Project?’  well, here’s the start of it………
Image

It’s a bit difficult to describe the colour as it doesn’t look quite the same in the picture but it’s a very pale lavender/pink from Debbie Bliss in an organic eco cotton… it’s quite ‘strandy’ as in the yarn tends to separate quite easily when using it if you’re not careful, but I do love the colour and you can just see the beginning of what I’m working on…any ideas what it might be?? All will be revealed, and it is only small, I do warn you, but I plan to embellish it…stay tuned!

ImageThis is the same yarn with a little granny square I’ve been playing around with some colour combinations…..

There’s a heather in the centre, then the lavender and then a very pretty soft grey…I don’t know about you but I really love experimenting with different colours and it’s really refreshing to use less primary colours or brights sometimes…and I’m beginning to think that these earthy type colours are the way I’m heading for a bit. I do love bright colours but we are blessed now with so many more greys, heathers, greens, browns and blues (to name a few) that I feel it only fair to give them a chance in my projects.

I recently bought myself some humungus (not sure if that’s the right spelling!) storage bags…well two, but I’ve currently misplaced one of them! However, I’d forgotten where I’d put them and have at least found one! And here it is…..

ImageNow, this mumma is BIG…I have a multitude of uses I could use it for but guess what it’s current role is? Yep, fabric stash! well, at least it looks pretty, even if you could actually fit a small child in it! best part is not only is is pretty to look at AND very useful, it is also made of 90% recycled plastic..yay! big tick! Have a look at the print close up…you’ll want to buy one, or two…

Image

Told you! it’s very pretty isn’t it ? i love the little bird and I have one in a duck egg blue with same print….all I have to do is find it!!

Finally, before I sign off…you might have wondered who Myrtle is?? well, this is she……. **there now follows rather a large gap that I can’t appear to correct**

Image

and yes…she is real! This is our (well, my), new addition to our rabbit kingdom…a baby French lop who is the palest of grey (told you I was very keen on these colours), with grey eyes….she has the biggest feet, ears that appear to have a life of their own at the moment and the longest eyelashes I have ever seen on a rabbit! If rabbits can be pretty then she is most definitely working her beauty. Yes, she is lying on my bed in the photo…but I had no choice in the matter as The Smallest one brought her upstairs to greet me first thing!

ImageDid I mention the whiskers??!! Sorry, I had to inflict another pic on you all….!!

Whilst this blog is generally about sewing, crochet, crafting, these little furries are quite a significant part of that, as they’re usually trouncing around my feet, jumping on the sofa or on my lap whilst I’m making whatever it is I’m making…that and they (she) is just one of them and they do look quite sweet (apologies if you are not a rabbit lover!)

Time to go and get on with my project….. I also have been asked by a dear friend if I can come up with a camera case (in the style of my ipad cover) for her…a challenge I have happily taken on…..and look forward to sharing here when it’s done.

Enjoy your evening whatever you’re doing!

Kx

6 thoughts on “Crochet surprise, granny square and meet Myrtle

    • I’m with you there Angel! granny squares are totally addictive and great way of experimenting with colour and technique…I’m glad you like the colours, I’m just going to keep going and see what I do with them!

  1. The colour combination is lovely! So’s the bunny – she tones in with the granny square beautifully 🙂

    • The bag is great isn’t it Pippa. It’s enormous!! I seriously can fit my 7 year old in it! Glad you like the granny squares…got some more on the hook too… Kx

Leave a Reply

