Introducing the ‘Myrtle’ granny square :: Bobble-shell edging

Hello! This is a short shortish post today…..

If you read my post yesterday you might remember I was talking about and showed a piccy of a granny square I was experimenting with some new colours I had (some of which were a small stash donated by my lovely friend, Jen, my crochet guru and tutor, love her). Anyway, today I had another sneaky hour of crochet and came up with this…………..

‘Myrtle’ granny square

ImageIt took a bit of practice to get the numbers right, but I got there eventually (and I actually wrote it down in ‘The Notebook’ so I wouldn’t forget what I’d done! and I’m really quite pleased with the end result…what do you think? I know the colour layout is not exactly in the traditional style of the granny square but I loved the blue/green centre piece and was going to do the whole square in one block colour, but then changed my mind, but I’m looking forward to trying different colour combinations and patterns.

Bobble-shell edging

ImageNow, because I was playing around I then fancied adding an edging to it…again, this is probably not going to be something you would do if you were doing lots of these with the intention of putting together for a blanket or a cushion cover, as the edging would get in the way I guess (??) anyone ever tried doing this? I guess it could be done….so I had a little peruse on  Pinterest for edging, and boy were there a lot, and so much beautiful choice! in the end I chose the bobble-shell edging from Lucy at Attic24 as not only was it very pretty but her tutorials are exceptionally easy to follow, thanks Lucy! I hope she’d like what I’ve done with it.

ImageAs I’ve written down the instructions for this I was thinking if I might dare actually put a tutorial for it on my blog…what do you think?? When I took up crocheting a year ago, I found very detailed (photos) yet simple tutorials invaluable. It’s quite a thing to get it right, but I feel I’d like to take my experiences of trying out tutorials as a newbie and write my own. Granny squares were what I just couldn’t get enough of at the time…the thrill of making these little squares of colour having just learnt to crochet, was huge! I’m not sure if I’ve got the courage to do it but then again, it’s a great way of getting feedback on the tutorial style and content. Hmm….I shall see what opinions might be on this and think about it. In the meantime, I plan to do more of these squares, make a pile  and maybe actually use them to make something! And the name? well, a granny square is a granny square I guess, but my darling little Myrtle (baby bunny) was lying stretched out in the sun by my feet whilst I was making this, and as I do so love my greys (and my Myrtle)  I thought I’d name it after her…sad case that I am!

Thank you my fellow bloggers for taking the time to read this. Until the next time, Kx

4 thoughts on “Introducing the ‘Myrtle’ granny square :: Bobble-shell edging

  1. Wow, I love the colour combination. I guess the bobble edging might get in the way for joining them up but it makes a lovely coaster 🙂

  2. I love this square and definitely you should do a tutorial.The bobbles will be fine for joining up – they will just have little holes along the edge. I will keep a look out for the tutorial 🙂

    • WOW!!!! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! Gray, I am so touched and so bowled over!!! what a huge and unexpected surprise! I really can’t thank you enough. Kate xxx

Leave a Reply

