Fun, Fabs and a pretty Gathered Bag

20130721-204158.jpg
Mini Fabs in the garden were the order of the day today….boy has it been hot! Even the dog was drinking out of the paddling pool….sensible boy!

Fun time spent at my sister-in-laws at their biannual Village Fayre…there was a dog show, falconry displays, competition tent….best ginger cake, best rhubarb, best single rose……

20130721-205037.jpg
‘Tequila Sunrise’ single rose 1st prize went to my lovely sister-in-law….well done lovely lady!

20130721-205243.jpg
Marvellous. The WI tent, band, and even the ‘Green Barrows’ the most hilarious but talented group of men in red overalls, and Biggles goggles and headwear, charging around with green wheelbarrows in formation! Set on the village green…a brilliant afternoon.

It was my sister-in-laws birthday so I decided to make her a present, I much prefer that personal touch. She’s a cloth bag kind of girl so I chose this lovely bag to make from my local great independent fabric, wool and haberdashery shop The Owl & Sewing Cat that stocks great patterns for all sorts of home accessories and bags, clothing, children’s and baby accessories….do take a look. They also stock wool and gorgeous fabrics and supplies as well as running sewing workshops. Anyway, back to my bag. I purchased the pattern from The Owl & Sewing Cat and this is The Gathered Bag and it’s rated as an intermediate level. I chose a lovely Elephant print hot pink fabric for outside of bag and a sage stripe lining, finished with grey ribbon trim and hand made bow.

20130721-210347.jpg
Gathered bag lining

20130721-210551.jpg
Ribbon trim and hand made bow

20130721-213848.jpg
The finished bag!

Really pleased with this. It took me longer than I thought….largely because I started it at a Sewing evening in Lewes. A friend invited me to this monthly event of like minded sewing lovelies….each bringing along a sewing project they were working on, a pinnie, a child’s dress, hankies, cushion, and my friend was making this gorgeous Cath Kidston ‘Stitch’ pattern quilted bag….I’ve yet to see her finished item but it was looking fab! Anyway, a lovely evening, however, I’ve realised it’s easy to get distracted in a big group…so I missed cutting out a pattern piece for starters and I cut it incorrectly and spoiled the fabric….had to later seam two pieces together to get the ‘fold’ I needed back for the missing piece! Yikes! Still, I saved it, but after a discussion with my friend we both agreed that sewing is often a solitary past time, filled with concentration and thought and maybe we need to learn to talk less and focus more if we do the group thing again!!! I had to catch up the next evening as a result of my distractions!! Although we plan to start our own ‘Drop Everything & Sew!’ (think that’s what we’ll call it) evening in our home town!

Do any of you take part in group sewing nights or days?
What have you been up to this hot weekend? Any crafty projects in the making?

4 thoughts on “Fun, Fabs and a pretty Gathered Bag

  1. Love the bag! You’re so clever πŸ™‚ I belong to a crafting group called ‘Goin Sewin’ – there is usually a mix of different craft activities going on including crochet, and lots of sewing of course! I have to say – that ice lolly looks awesome! Love the sprinkles – I will have to try making some like that too.
    Claire xx

    • Ah thanks Claire! I was very pleased with the bag but it did take a lot of work for the size of it! Love the name of your group. Do you meet monthly? I think the idea of mixed crafts like sewing, knitting and crochet is great. I didn’t make that lolly though!!! It was a mini Fab and just so cute I had to post a pic! Would be great to do a crochet/knitted version of this heh??! Did you notice the lavender in the background??! Kate x

      • Yes it’s a monthly meet up. I haven’t been for a while though. The mini fab looks yummy – I’m inspired – I think I will have to try out the sprinkles with my ice lolly maker at home. A knitted crochet version would definitely be fab! Gorgeous lavender xx

      • Did I not reply yesterday? I meant to say that yes my group meets monthly ~ I haven’t been recently though ~ must make more effort! You have inspired me to make my own ‘fabs’! A crochet version would be fab too! πŸ˜‰ gorgeous lavender xx

Leave a Reply

