Ooh…what’s in the bag honey?

This week I had the pleasure of visiting the beautiful East Sussex town of Rye. I’m lucky enough to live not far away and guess what? it just so happens that the fabulous Merchant & Mills have their home there! what to do but pay a visit….

20140222-140520.jpg
What a wonderful place…it’s like stepping back in time to a working Sheffield cloth factory….a large open space, bright and airy and you can hear the whirring of machines from behind the shop counter.
So what is in the bag?

20140222-141323.jpg
Well, beautifully wrapped in tissue paper came a gorgeous dinky pair of Baby Bow scissors…

20140222-141719.jpg

20140222-141737.jpg
All Merchant & Mills shears and scissors are made in Sheffield and are of amazing quality and I can see myself investing in a pair of tailor’s shears just as soon as I can!
I also bought this lovely tape measure…

20140222-142031.jpg

20140222-142049.jpg
I only seem to own cheap tape measures and I realised the difference a good quality one feels like…this one is almost rubber like in texture and feel and ‘Made in Germany’ yay! not China for a change (no offence) but often made as cheaply as possible for a mass market drastically reduces quality.

20140222-142547.jpg
A beautiful little box (one of many varieties they sell) of traditional glass headed dressmaking pins…

20140222-142659.jpg
And a tailor’s chalk pencil as well as this wonderful pack of 9 ‘Sewing Thoughts’ post cards…can’t wait to get a frame to home these lovelies….

20140222-142902.jpg

20140222-142922.jpg
It did occur to me what a great present for a sewist friend you could put together from the huge choice of accessories the shop stocks. You should have seen the beautiful handmade patterned cotton bias binding!! There are kits for oilcloth bags, dress patterns (all designed by Carolyn herself) and the choice of beautiful linens, wools, silk fabric is breathtaking!
So if you haven’t, do take a look at their website or blog or even better, take a trip to beautiful historic Rye, it’s also very near to Camber sands and Hastings so lots to see and do for everyone! and if you do get to visit the shop, you might even come away with your own little bag of goodies!

20140222-143652.jpg
Have a lovely weekend whatever you’re up to!
Kate x

*please note; I was not asked to do a review of the shop, it was just my own opinion and experience of my visit there*

6 thoughts on “Ooh…what’s in the bag honey?

    • Haha! Gosh, no, not yet! decorating a room that I plan to have a little table and corner of for my sewing space…BUT, this is when teen daughter has finished with the table for her GCSE revision space! It’s a multi use family (was the dining room) we all have to share, kind of room…they absolutely will go up then! They’re lovely aren’t they? Kate x

      • Oh wow…your sewing room is magnificent..imagine having that..I don’t think I’d ever leave it! I tried to leave a comment on your page but I couldn’t seem to sign in on WordPress on my phone! Grrr… Kate x

      • I honestly wouldn’t blame you if you lived up there…could be totally self sufficient!! hope you enjoy my little blog..getting there..slowly! xx

Leave a Reply

