The not so accidental crochet cowl!

I originally had a ball of Rowan’s thick ‘n’ thin yarn from my lovely children for Christmas. I decided to crochet myself a cowl..so bought an extra ball or two and began. Trouble was, the yarn wasn’t really suitable for the pattern and I needed a lot more yarn! So I unravelled, chose another pattern and made this….

20140304-190954.jpg

20140304-191102.jpg
It’s a beautiful yarn…exactly that…thick and then thin..it almost self patterns as you crochet. Lovely and chunky, I crocheted this up on the largest hook I had, a size 9. This created a lovely open pattern with a soft drape. Very snug!

20140304-192802.jpg
I found this pattern on Ravelry which, if you haven’t looked at before, you must! It’s a fab forum and library of knitting and crochet patterns..many of which are free or at a very minimal fee to purchase them. You can store your patterns in your own library…so much going on there to detail here so take a look!

The pattern I chose, ‘The Accidental Cowl’ is also available direct from Elizabeth’s blog Crochet in Color and it’s incredibly simple to follow and suitable for a beginner.

I made a few changes…I chained a few extra on the foundation round because I wanted the cowl a little longer. I also did not crochet in the round but joined the finished piece once I’d completed enough rows that gave me the width I wanted…I just kept doing rows, ending each row with a chain 3 and turn and followed Elizabeth’s instructions for the rows. It was very simple.

The yarn is so pretty and I adore the emerald green colour. I think this Rowan yarn is perfect for a beginner as it did not split at all as you work it, which is a plus in my book and works up really quickly! Bingo!

I used just under four 50 gram balls for this cowl.

20140304-194707.jpg

20140304-200404.jpg
I even blocked it to finish it properly! That was simple too, though it did take about 3 days to dry as it’s so thick! I’ve had loads of compliments about it and I will make another one or certainly some for presents for next Christmas! I may try the Sirdar Big Softee next time as its much cheaper and similar to work with and comes in an array of beautiful colours.

Hope you like it too! Have any if you knitted with the Rowan thick ‘n’ thin yarn before? what did you make?

p.s. sorry about the ropey photography and subject…not easy taking selfies from far enough away!!

Leave a Reply

