But I only said a trim!!!

*WaRniNg* this is a short post but starts with a rant….one word…HAIRDRESSER!! or should that be two?!?!

The words “I would just like a trim” have most likely been uttered by many many women (and men) only to come out an hour later with a short, back and sides!! Ok, so it wasn’t quite that bad but let’s just say I went in for said hair cut with hair a good couple of inches of hair below my shoulders and came out with it a good 3 inches above!!!!

After a couple of days crying every time I looked in the mirror at the loss of length and curls, I calmed down and decided to pull myself together…there are far worse things to be faced with for goodness sake…so I decided to go with it and ’embellish’ my locks with something pretty…and came up with this little project involving some fabric in my stash and lace trim from something I’d picked apart…

20140509-182702.jpg
do you dig those funky pins??!

I love some quick and oh so easy sewing…I drafted a very simple pattern and voilà! “The Butterflies” headband was born…

20140509-182945.jpg
Though to be honest you can’t really see the beautiful butterflies on this leftover quilting cotton I used…never mind, it is pretty, honest!
I put in some plastic coated wire so I can ‘twist’ the headband together which looks like a big bow and bonus…it stays put!!

20140509-183253.jpg
Really pleased with how it turned out and I’m definitely going to make some more for summer! What do you think?
This is a great little sew for beginners as it’s so easy. If anyone would like me to blog a tutorial with measurements etc, let me know!

That’s it for now.
Kate x

12 thoughts on “But I only said a trim!!!

    • Ah thank you! I shall make some time to get a tutorial together…thank you for your feedback! I’m waiting for some more wire then I can make some more! Kate x

    • Oh what a lovely thing to say, thank you! The cut was great just WAY too short!! but it’s settling now and it’s growing on me (as it were!!). I love wearing things in my hair..can really express yourself with different fabrics..I thought I might try adding my own crochet trim and/or some crochet flowers attached to band too.. Kate x

    • Oh what a lovely thing to say, thank you! The cut was great just WAY too short!! but it’s settling now and it’s growing on me (as it were!!). I love wearing things in my hair..can really express yourself with different fabrics..I thought I might try adding my own crochet trim and/or some crochet flowers attached to band too.. Kate x

    • The wire really helps hold it’s shape if you like a big bow effect and you can adjust it to suit…I prefer a kick ass bow type finish to offset my big hair! Oh hair disasters…don’t we just love ’em..not! My husband maintains I’m never happy with my haircuts…don’t know what he means!! A tutorial will be here very soon! X

  1. A tutorial would be great, yes please 🙂 i love this version. Would it work for dressing up my hair 60’s style? Have a 50th wedding anniversary coming soon, all dressing up 🙂

    • Ah thank you! I’m making some for a friend so plan to put together the tutorial when I make them…worn the way I did in the picture is probably more a 40’s/50’s style…with the ends on the top of your head (I like to think of it as my Hilda Ogden look!) but you can also reverse it so that you wrap the ends together and wear them underneath…at the back of your neck…does this make sense? That way you’d have the widest part of the band on the top of your head which is more a 60’s style of wearing it! I’ll try and remember and post a pic of this way of wearing…do you have a twitter account? I could post pic on there for you. Kate x

Leave a Reply

